Vaiko, four others take oath as Rajya Sabha members
Latest News

Vaiko, four others take oath as Rajya Sabha members

By The Hindu calender  25-Jul-2019

Vaiko, four others take oath as Rajya Sabha members

MDMK founder Vaiko and four other newly-elected Rajya Sabha MPs on Thursday took oath as members of the Upper House.
Vaiko, PMK leader Anbumani Ramadoss and two candidates each from the AIADMK and the DMK were elected unopposed as Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu earlier this month.
When the House met for the day, Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu called for oath or affirmation of the new members.
All five members —new AIADMK Rajya Sabha members A. Muhammathjohn and N. Chandrasekaran, and DMK members N. Shanmugam and P. Wilson — took oath in Tamil.
Ramadoss did not take oath on Thursday. After taking oath, the new members were warmly greeted by Naidu and other members in the House by thumping of desks.
Family, friends and supporters of the newly elected MPs watched the proceedings from the visitors’ gallery.
The new members were elected unopposed on vacancies created by expiry of term of K.R. Arjunan, R. Lakshmanan, V. Maitreyan and T. Rathinavel (all from AIADMK) and CPI leader D. Raja.
DMK leader Kanimozhi, whose term would have also expired along with the five members on July 24, quit her Rajya Sabha post following her election to the Lok Sabha from Thoothukudi in the recent election.


क्या आरक्षण पर मोहन भागवत के बयान से चुनावों में बीजेपी को नुकसान होगा?


Raise Your Voice
Raise Your Voice 

Suffering From Problem In Your Area ? Now Its Time To Raise Your Voice And Make Everyone Know