What is No-Confidence Motion?
Latest Article

What is No-Confidence Motion?

Author: Thamanna Abdul Latheef calender  20 Jul 2018

What is No-Confidence Motion?

The monsoon session of the parliament has started recently and this would be the last monsoon session of Modi government as their tenure ends in 2019. As the elections are approaching, there are various allegations and accusations against the current government. As a result, a no-confidence motion has been filed against Modi government and that has been accepted by the Speaker of Lok Sabha Sumitra Mahajan. Now, the big question is; what is a no-confidence motion and why has it been filed against Modi government at this point?  

What is a No-Confidence Motion?

A no-confidence motion is moved by a Member of Parliament(MP) if the member fees that the functioning of the government isn’t satisfactory, in which case the member demands its resignation. Almost 50 MPs have supported the motion and it has been put to vote where the party in power has to prove the majority to dismiss the motion.  Here are the details that you must know about the no-confidence motion and its implication on the system.

The speaker of the house, Sumitra Mahajan, has admitted notices for the motion moved by the TDP and other opposition parties against the government on issues such as a grant of special status to Andhra Pradesh, increasing mob lynchings, atrocities against women and Dalits and dilution of a law meant for Scheduled Castes.

To be precise, there are 535 members in the Lower House in which 313 MPs belong to NDA while 222 belong to other Opposition parties.  Therefore, to dismiss the motion, Modi government should get more than half the total members. In fact, the total number of MPs that NDA has is more than required to discharge the no-trust vote motion.

As far as BJP is concerned, this is a test of loyalty towards the NDA ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. AIADMK has implicitly expressed its indifference in favoring TDP as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, K. Palaniswami, said the motion was moved by the TDP over an issue concerning Andhra Pradesh. However, opposition parties like AAP, Congress, TMC etc. came stalwartly in support of the motion.

No-Confidence Motion in History

Earlier when the motion was moved in the parliament, it was in 2001 when a Congress-led Opposition was defeated by the Atal Bihari Vajpayee-led NDA government in a trust vote. That time the issue was related to the re-induction of defence minister George Fernandes in the Union Cabinet over corruption charges. Further up in history, Vajpayee had lost a no-confidence motion in 1999 by a single vote, the narrowest so far, after the Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK withdrew its support. It led to fresh elections.


ट्रैफिक रूल्स में हुए नए बदलाव जनता के लिए !



See more 
Political-Cartoon,Funny Political Cartoon
Political-Cartoon,Funny Political Cartoon

Suffering From Problem In Your Area ? Now Its Time To Raise Your Voice And Make Everyone Know