In a first, Karnataka to have 3 Deputy Chief Ministers
Latest News

In a first, Karnataka to have 3 Deputy Chief Ministers

By The Hindu calender  28-Aug-2019

In a first, Karnataka to have 3 Deputy Chief Ministers

A month after B.S. Yediyurappa took over as Chief Minister of Karnataka, portfolios were finally allocated on August 26 to the 17 Ministers sworn in earlier and three Deputy Chief Ministers named to work alongside him.
This comes a week after expansion of the Ministry, inducting 17 Ministers. The Deputy Chief Minister are: five time MLA from Mudhol Govind Karjol (68), two-time MLA from Malleswaram Dr. C.N. Ashwath Narayan (51) and three-time MLA from Athani Lakshman Savadi (59) who lost the election in 2018. They belong to Dalit, Vokkaliga and Lingayat communities, respectively.
While Mr. Karjol is perceived to be close to the Chief Minister, the other two are known to have played a key role in the party’s efforts to topple the Congress-JD(S) coalition government.
While B.S. Yediyurappa is reportedly not happy with the decision to appoint three Deputy Chief Ministers, several senior leaders are said to be upset with the choice of Dr. Ashwath Narayan, seen as a relative junior, and Mr. Savadi, who lost the 2018 elections. However, the party high command has left them with little options but to tow the line, sources said.


'ओला-ऊबर के कारण ऑटो सेक्टर में मंदी' - क्या निर्मला सीतारमण के इस बयान से आप सहमत है ?

कुछ कह नहीं सकते


Raise Your Voice
Raise Your Voice 

Suffering From Problem In Your Area ? Now Its Time To Raise Your Voice And Make Everyone Know

Download App