Rajya Sabha race hots up in Odisha's BJD
Latest News

Rajya Sabha race hots up in Odisha's BJD

By Newindianexpress calender  17-Jun-2019

Rajya Sabha race hots up in Odisha's BJD

With the Election Commission of India (ECI) announcing by-poll to three vacant Rajya Sabha seats in Odisha on Saturday, hectic lobbying has started in the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) for a berth in the Upper House.
Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik had assured several leaders a berth in the Rajya Sabha after denying them party tickets in the recently-concluded General Elections.
Prominent among these include former Lok Sabha Member from Bhubaneswar Prasanna Patsani and ex-MLA from Berhampur Ramesh Chandra Chau Patnaik.
BJD sources said tickets for the first two Rajya Sabha seats are likely to go to Patsani and Chau Patnaik.
Both the leaders did not revolt when they were denied tickets from their respective Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies from which they were winning for the last several times successively.
While Patsani had won from Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha five times, Chau Patnaik also represented Berhampur in the Assembly successively for five times since 1995.
Now it remains to be seen whether the BJD supremo keeps his promise and nominates the duo for the Upper House or gives tickets to some other leaders. 
This apart, all eyes are on the leader who will be picked up for the third Rajya Sabha seat in view of the large number of aspirants in BJD.
Prominent among the aspirants include former Principal Accountant General Amar Patnaik and senior leaders who were defeated in the recent Lok Sabha and Assembly polls.
Patnaik joined the ruling BJD after retirement and is now a spokesperson of the party.


मॉब लिंचिंग किस वजह से हो रही है ?



Raise Your Voice
Raise Your Voice 

Suffering From Problem In Your Area ? Now Its Time To Raise Your Voice And Make Everyone Know