Congress, BJP poised to share spoils in Goa
Latest News

Congress, BJP poised to share spoils in Goa

By The Hindu calender  26-May-2019

Congress, BJP poised to share spoils in Goa

Goa yielded mixed results for the BJP with the party winning one Lok Sabha seat but losing the other and winning three of the four Assembly bypolls on Thursday.
The party, however, lost the prestigious Panaji Assembly seat, which was held by the ruling party since 1994, largely represented by late Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar.
The winning of the three Assembly bypolls has strengthened the BJP-led coalition government in the State, according to Chief Minister Pramod Sawant.
Union Minister of State for AYUSH Shripad Naik won the North Goa Lok Sabha seat for the fifth consecutive term by over 80,247 votes defeating his nearest Congress rival Girish Chodankar who polled 1,64,597 votes.
Sitting BJP South Goa MP Narendra Sawaikar conceded defeat even before the final votes could be tallied. Mr. Sawaikar polled 1,91,581 votes as against the Congress’s Francisco Sardinha, a former Chief Minister who polled 2,00,972 votes.
“I accept my defeat. I thank everyone for the support and cooperation throughout my tenure as MP,” Mr. Sawaikar said in a social media post.


क्या कांग्रेस का महागठबंधन से अलग रह के चुनाव लड़ने की वजह से बीजेपी को पूर्ण बहुमत मिला है?



Raise Your Voice
Raise Your Voice 

Suffering From Problem In Your Area ? Now Its Time To Raise Your Voice And Make Everyone Know

Download App